Adult Recommendations

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

@War: The Rise of the Military-Internet Complex, by Shane Harris

America is at war—and so is Google, your bank, and America’s utility companies. At stake are financial data, military secrets, and innocent lives. Welcome to the strange and terrifying world of zero days, white hats, and hackbacks, where the NSA, internet security companies, major corporations, and foreign governments race to defend against swarms of botnets and ever-expanding worms. Shane Harris has written an absorbing account of the internet’s growing importance as not only the place where the world works, plays, and stores vital information, but the site of an ongoing covert war in which the lines between offense and defense are blurred—a war in which America does not have a clear advantage.

The Deepest Night by Kara Braden

When security contractor Ray Powell returns to the British Isle of Scilly after a hard mission, he expects to find comfort in staying at his grandmother's home. Instead, he discovers Michelle Cole: gorgeous, kind, funny–and helping out a friend who bought Ray's grandmother's house and turned it into a B&B. Though she's initially wary of the strange man on her doorstep, Michelle soon warms to the determined and sexy ex-Royal Marine. As Ray falls deeper in love, he must convince Michelle that's he's more than just a vacation fling, and Michelle must decide whether to set aside old betrayals–and learn to trust her heart.