The Expats

Vita's picture

Kate Moore and her husband decide to accept a job offer in Luxemburg.   While her husband begins his new job and Kate spends more time with her children she must learn how to adjust to the daily life in a new country.  Kate begins to notice her husband’s suspicious behavior and also becomes suspicious of another American couple they have befriended.   As she begins to investigate she becomes nervous they are connected to her past.   Mystery lovers will enjoy this novel which keeps them guessing until the very end.

The Distance

Vita's picture

At the intermission of a London opera performance, elegant socialite Charlotte Alton makes eye contact with a mysterious man who hands her a battered Christmas ornament before disappearing. It’s a message for Karla, an underworld fixer who can make information disappear—Charlotte Alton’s powerful and amoral alter ego. The invitation to meet is Charlotte’s first step onto a dark path that will bring together old enemies and new in a twisty puzzle-box of a thriller exploring intersections between the worlds of crime, intelligence gathering, police work, and high society. Elegantly written and tightly plotted, every detail matters in this dark and gripping debut.

Gideon by Alex Gordon

Caitlin's picture

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

Adventure Pick for Teens!:I Have a Bad Feeling About This

Henry Lambert would rather play video games than spend time in the great outdoors–but that doesn't make him a wuss. Henry's dad doesn't agree and thinks his masculinity needs a boost. Which is why Henry is being shipped off to Strongwoods Survival Camp. Strongwoods isn't exactly as advertised. It looks like the victim of a zombie apocalypse, the “camp director” is a psycho drill sergeant, and Henry's sure he saw a sign written in blood… 

Juvenile Fiction Selection: Dory and the Real True Friend by Abby Hanlon

Dory is back and this time she's ready to start a new school year and make a real friend.  Dory's older siblings, Luke and Violet, have convinced Dory that it's time to leave her imaginary friend, Mary, at home for the new school year and leave her crazy imaginings behind.  On the first day of school she meets Rosabelle, a girl with an imagination as big as Dory's, but they don't hit it off right away. When she and Rosabelle bump into each other at the park their imaginations collide and send them on an adventure.  Now if only Dory could convince her brother and sister that Rosabelle exists and that she has finally made a real true friend!  Adorable illustrations add a lot of charm and will entertain young readers.  Look for Dory Fantasmagory if you want to start at the beginning. (Grades 2-4 School Library Journal)


Subscribe to Book