Book

Doctor Sleep : a novel by Stephen King

Vita's picture

Doctor Sleep is not a re-telling of Jack Torrence and the creepy Overlook Motel.  The book works as a stand-alone novel, a bit of a sequel, but truly a new story with recurring characters from The Shining.

Starting with a summary of Danny and his mother's life over the past thirty five years, Doctor Sleep moves into the present where we find Danny coming to terms with his past; recovering from an abusive alcoholic father and fighting his own battle with sobriety.  Doctor Sleep is a humane story with a twist, characters can read minds, see the future, and communicate telepathically. However humane, King's ability to scare the heck out of you is still powerfully strong! 

Kahiki Supper Club: A Polynesian Paradise in Columbus

Vita's picture

Take a set back into retro Columbus with the book Kahiki Supper Club by David Meyers.

The Kahiki, a South Seas themed restaurant, was located in Columbus on East Broad Street. The restaurant was easy to identify since it was shaped like a Polynesian fighting boat, with giant flaming Mo’ai heads outside the main doors.  Entering you walked into a faux South Pacific village with tropical rainforest, totally exotic.  The best was ordering up the “Mystery Drink” which came in a bowl with a smoking volcano and served by the “Mystery Girl” who danced the drink to your table after being summoned by a giant gong, fun!

Gideon by Alex Gordon

Caitlin's picture

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

The Elephant Keepers' Children

Vita's picture

The setting is the imaginary island of Fino off the coast of Denmark, where the world’s religions live together peacefully.  Father is a vicar and Mother is a fine artist. For the second time in the lives of the three siblings, Hans, Tidle and Peter, their very eccentric parents disappear.  The youngest, fourteen year old Peter is the narrator. From his precocious view point he describes the weird circumstances and incredible adventures they have finding their parents, while the rest of Denmark is trying to corral them to keep them out of harm’s way. There is a lot of satire, laugh out loud moments and a satisfying ending.

When Books Went To War: The Stories That Helped Us Win World War II, by Molly Guptill Manning

Caitlin's picture

On May 10, 1933, German students (with official encouragement) burned an estimated 25,000 books in a symbolic act meant to “purify” Germany of Jewish influence. The Nazis would continue to burn books throughout their reign, both in their country and in the countries they invaded, in an attempt to stamp out any thought they deemed dangerous to National Socialism, ultimately destroying over 100 million volumes. People around the world reacted in outrage and horror, and in the US, groups of librarians, citizens, politicians, writers, and publishers came together to fight back. Through organized book donation drives and the invention of an entirely new book format—the Armed Services Edition—these fighters in World War II’s “War of Ideas” put 132 million books in the hands of American servicemen and their allies. Their work inspired an entire generation with a love of reading and enshrined books like Betty Smith’s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby as American classics. When Books Went to War tells their unforgettable story.

Family Picture Book Selection: You Were the First

You Were the First by Patricia MacLachlan, celebrates all of the stages of the firstborn baby in a family.  There may be other children in the family later, but there is always a first one to teach the parents how to be parents.  This will make parents and children of all family sizes smile and remember all of the good first times they each experienced. A beautiful mixture of words and illustrations for all ages. 

Pages

Subscribe to Book