The Expats

Vita's picture

Kate Moore and her husband decide to accept a job offer in Luxemburg.   While her husband begins his new job and Kate spends more time with her children she must learn how to adjust to the daily life in a new country.  Kate begins to notice her husband’s suspicious behavior and also becomes suspicious of another American couple they have befriended.   As she begins to investigate she becomes nervous they are connected to her past.   Mystery lovers will enjoy this novel which keeps them guessing until the very end.

The Distance

Vita's picture

At the intermission of a London opera performance, elegant socialite Charlotte Alton makes eye contact with a mysterious man who hands her a battered Christmas ornament before disappearing. It’s a message for Karla, an underworld fixer who can make information disappear—Charlotte Alton’s powerful and amoral alter ego. The invitation to meet is Charlotte’s first step onto a dark path that will bring together old enemies and new in a twisty puzzle-box of a thriller exploring intersections between the worlds of crime, intelligence gathering, police work, and high society. Elegantly written and tightly plotted, every detail matters in this dark and gripping debut.

Gideon by Alex Gordon

Caitlin's picture

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

Picture Book Selection: And Then It's Spring

What a winter we have had in central Ohio!  Spring is finally here according to the calendar!  Celebrate by checking out “And Then It's Spring” by Julie Fogliano and award-winning artist Erin Stead.  A boy and his dog are tired of brown winter and they dig and plant seeds.  They wait and then wait and then finally it's spring and everything is green and colorful!  Great for ages 4 and up.  

Shooting Victoria: Madness, Mayhem, and the Rebirth of the British Monarchy by Paul Thomas Murphy

Vita's picture

Many historians have made the argument that without Victoria, the British monarchy would have fallen like so many others in the revolutions that swept Europe in 1840s. This text takes the interesting approach in analyzing history through the eight assassination attempts made on the Queen during her 64-year reign. To read about how a few madmen and criminals challenged Victoria and changed Britain, pick up this book about one of Britain’s favorite monarchs.


Subscribe to Book