UAPL Online Reference Databases

Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Databasesort descending Description

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides full text for nearly 4,500 multidisciplinary journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

Access Science

Provides scientific coverage of more than 7,500 articles on twenty subjects from agriculture to veterinary science.

Alt Health Watch (EBSCOhost)

Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full-text articles for nearly 180 international and many peer-reviewed journals and reports.

America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Handbook

Presents a concise, statistical, 4-volume work identifying America's top-rated cities with populations of 100,000 or more. It covers 100 cities that have received high marks for their business and living environment. 

America's Top-Rated Smaller Cities

Provides concise statistical profiles of top U.S. cities with populations between 25,000 and 99,999. Cities are ranked in multiple categories from Roadway Congestion to Economic Growth.

American Decades

Presents social aspects of 10-year periods in 20th century American history covering arts, medicine, media, education, world events, religion, politics, lifestyles, law, religion, business, and sports.

American Decades Primary Sources

Examines 10-year periods in 20th century American history illuminating each decade with first-hand accounts and primary source documentation representing a diversity of viewpoints.

American Decades: 2000-2009

Presents significant events for the first decade of the 21st century in all aspects of American history.

American History (ABC-CLIO)

From New World explorers to today's headlines, this comprehensive and authoritative database investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation's evolution.

Ancestry Library Edition
This database is accessible only from the library.

Features comprehensive information for conducting genealogical and local history research. In-Library use only

Animals (EBSCOhost)

Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full-text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Annals of American History

Contains over 2,000 primary source historical documents provided by Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia

Provides a survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America, with in-depth essays on over 300 of the most important sites, as well as suggested books and articles for further reading.

ART Collection

Includes digital documentation of over 100,000 works of art from around the world for all time periods.

Auto Repair Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

Contains repair information on more than 31,600 domestic and imported vehicles from 1945 to the present. ARRC includes over 200,000 drawings and photographs, 75,000 technical service bulletins, and 130,000 wiring diagrams. All content is created by ASE certified technicians.

BookFlix

Offers an online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction from Children's Press and other trusted Scholastic imprints.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)

Providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, Business Source Premier is the industry's most used business research database.

Chilton Auto Repair Manuals

Provides detailed repair information, photographs, diagrams, and maintenance tables for cars, trucks, vans and SUVs.

College Blue Book

Covers 2-year and 4-year colleges in the United States and Canada, providing information on programs, degrees and much more.

Columbus Dispatch Archives

Includes full-text articles from 1985 to the present, including recipes and obituaries. Searches may be narrowed by time frame or by browsing a specific issue.

Comparative Guide to American Hospitals

Reports on how 4,383 hospitals in America measure up when caring for patients with a number of specific conditions. Each hospital is rated on 24 recognized quality measures and is compared to both state and national averages.

Comparative Guide to American Suburbs

Details and ranks the living and business environment of 2,756 suburban communities in America's 75 largest metro areas.

Computer Source (EBSCOhost)

Offers researchers the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)

Provides a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content which is designed to support patients' information needs.

ConsumerReports.org

Provides full access to the Consumer Reports website for product ratings and buying advice, plus exclusive online content such as new product evaluations, consumer reviews and much more.

Contemporary Authors

Provides biographical information about authors, illustrators, poets, playwrights, journalists, and other writers.

CultureGrams

Features photos, recipes, customs, lifestyle, and government info for 190 countries–plus a Kids Edition and a States Edition.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO)

Provides content from a number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents on life around the world and through the ages.

DemographicsNow

Provides entrepreneurs and businesses a wealth of nationwide consumer and business information through a variety of simple, ready-to-use demographic reports. The perfect tool for finding untapped markets and household buying patterns, direct mail targeting, and much more.

Dictionary of American History

Provides authoritative articles on a wide range of American history topics, from the well-studied and familiar to the obscure.

Digital Downloads (formerly Mid-Ohio Library Digital Initiative)

Provides best selling audio and print books you can checkout and download to your PC and PDA at home, in the office, or anywhere in the world. Video and music downloads are also available through this resource. (Compatible Devices / Incompatible Devices)

EBSCOhost Databases

Provides business, health, and education information from a variety of magazine and newspapers sources.

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Encyclopedia of Europe 1450 to 1789: The Early Modern World

Includes 1,150 articles in European history from the print revolution to the French Revolution covering major topics as art, government and education.

Encyclopedia of Modern China

Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world, covering all aspects of life including the people, politics, art, religion and literature of this ancient civilization.

Encyclopedia of Modern Europe 1789 to 1914

Researches the time period between the beginning of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War I covering the people, major events, and developments.

Encyclopedia of Modern Europe Since 1914

Profiles the age of war and reconstruction in Europe from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world.

Encyclopedia of Religion

Contains articles on important ideas, beliefs, rituals, myths, symbols, and persons that have played a role in the history of religions from Paleolithic times to the present day.

Encyclopedia of Small Business

Presents 600 detailed articles of all the information needs of small business owners, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning; human resource issues; and more.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution

Features comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, including judicial decisions, congressional laws, executive orders and other public acts that have impacted our legal structure.

Encyclopedia of the New American Nation

Covers American history from 1754 to 1829 and outlines the cultural development of the United States.

ERIC (EBSCOhost)

Contains more than 2,200 digests from the Educational Resource Information Center along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

Facts on File Issues and Controversies

Helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly.

Facts on File Science Online

Offers a comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines in a variety of useful formats, organized by subject.

Facts on File Today's Science

Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today. Updated weekly.

Facts on File World Geography and Culture Online

Combines more than 1,500 clear, printable full color original maps with current statistical, geographical, and cultural information on more than 200 countries, all 50 states, as well as the world's continents and major regions. (Formerly Facts on File World Atlas)

Facts on File World News Digest

Features news stories from 1940 to the present, news from Reuters, in-depth news features, and primary documents.

Gale Biography in Context

Provides biographic information on over 340,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across disciplines. (Formerly Biography Resource Center)

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

This premier media directory contains thousands of listings for radio and television stations and cable companies.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law

Contains current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. (Formerly West's Encyclopedia of American Law)

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health

Offers coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive development for parents and health science students.

Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, dieting and popular diets, nutrition basics and the effects of dietary choices on one's health.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

Fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Presents information on medical disorders and concepts and includes discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics.

Gale Encyclopedia of Science

Highlights major areas of science including biology, genetics, microbiology, astronomy, chemistry, physics, engineering, technology, and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests

Helps patients and families by showing them what happens during the diagnosis, surgical procedure, and aftercare; includes coverage of approximately 450 surgical procedures and medical tests.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides articles, topic overviews, statistics, and primary documents on social issues. (Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center)

Gale Science in Context

Provides a curriculum-oriented science database focusing on key concepts in Earth Science, History of Science, Life Science, Physical Science, Science and Technology, Science as Inquiry, Space Science, and more. (Formerly Science Research Center)

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Highlights developments in the animal world, starting with the simplest life forms, lower metazoans, and progresses through the more complex classes, culminating with mammals.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)

Supplies nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Heritage Quest Online

Contains over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, PERSI, and other collections for genealogical researchers.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO)

Provides comprehensive coverage for many popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities. Includes full text for more than 740 magazines and books and hundreds of videos. Subject areas include arts & crafts; collecting; needlework; outdoors & nature; scrapbooking and much more.

Home Improvement Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

Assists homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects with step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects around the house. Additionally, thousands of articles from magazines and reference books provide tips and suggestions to supplement the step-by-step project instructions.

James Dulley's $ensible Home
This database is accessible only from the library.

Provides product reviews, home remodeling tips and do-it-yourself guides for all manner of projects. Update Bulletins are only available in a UAPL library location. In-Library use only

Kids Search (EBSCOhost)

Allows elementary and middle school students to search by keyword or topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type, such as magazines, reference books, photos, and flags.

LearningExpress Library

Provides access to academic and occupational online practice tests and tutorials such as: ACT, SAT, Civil Service Exams, TOEFL, and more.

Legal Forms (Gale)

Provides access to thousands of Ohio legal forms including business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Literature Databases

Includes fifteen different literature collections in the areas of poetry, drama, and fiction.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Presents biographies, literary criticisms, and bibliographies of over 130,000 authors and their works.

Mango Languages

Offers interactive courses in any of 45 languages through a unique method of engaging the user in realistic conversations in the native language. 

MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost)

Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, 350 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. Designed specifically for high school libraries.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost)

Offers full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, this database is designed specifically for public libraries.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE is a creation of the National Library of Medicine.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost)

Contains full-text for 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Features comprehensive financial information on mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs. Create your own portfolios, compare funds to see how they work together, and read lists of current fund and stock recommendations.

National Geographic Virtual Library

Contains every issue of National Geographic Magazine from 1888 to current, as well as additional content from National Geographic such as maps, videos, images and books.

National Newspapers (ProQuest)

Provides access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Boston Globe, and USA Today for top news stories and articles on arts, sports, business, popular culture, and more. Most of these newspapers include coverage from the 1980s to the present.

New York Times Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Provides complete digital coverage of the New York Times from 1851 through 2009. Search for specific topics or browse page by page through each issue. Access the historical Wall Street Journal and Washington Post from this same database.

NewsBank

Offers full text access to the Columbus Dispatch, Cleveland Plain Dealer, Toledo Blade and the Dayton Daily News. NewsBank also has coverage of the Cincinnati Post through 2007.

Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)

Contains selected full text for 25 national and international newspapers. The database also contains full-text television and radio news transcripts and selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers.

NoveList K-8 Plus (EBSCOhost)

Focuses on fiction and non-fiction titles popular with young readers at all grade levels. Search for titles or authors, or browse through hundreds of theme oriented book lists for novels of interest.

NoveList Plus (EBSCOhost)

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its intuitive interface and extensive feature content, NoveList Plus will help you to answer the question of what to read next.

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z

Examines the relationship between food and health by analyzing how nutrition has affected the quality of life, health and fitness in different countries and different times in history.

OCLC WorldCat

Offers catalog access for locating books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Oxford Art Online

Presenting the most extensive art reference source available, with over 26,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, and tens of thousands of images from Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art and other Oxford art reference works.

Oxford English Dictionary

Provides an unsurpassed guide to the meaning and history of over 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English speaking world.

Oxford Music Online

Containing multiple music sources in one easily searchable database, Oxford Music Online includes venerable reference works such as The Oxford Companion to Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Oxford Reference Online
This database is accessible only from the library.

Features 100 language and subject dictionaries containing over 1.5 million definitions, facts, figures, and dates. In-Library use only

People's Chronology

Refers to historical developments from prehistory through 2004 and explores the interrelationships between politics, economics, energy, transportation, technology, science, and medicine.

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas (ABC-CLIO)

Presents information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for research without bias, advertising, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles

Offers the most comprehensive pricing tool in the world, containing data from eBay, Go Antiques, and TIAS.

Primary Search (EBSCOhost)

Offers full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high-quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)

Contains nearly 575 full-text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more.

Reference USA

Contains directory information on 14 million U.S. businesses and 89 million U.S. households.

Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)

Features comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)

Provides extensive coverage from over 300 full-text journals on topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy and more.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Includes historical maps of Ohio towns and cities from 1876-1970.

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans

Covers more than 7,500 sources of education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of study for students of all types.

Searchasaurus (EBSCOhost)

Provides children with a specially designed search tool to access magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, and pictures.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (EBSCOhost)

Contains thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components. Engines types include: motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more.

Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost)

Contains coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles, covering all areas of sociology, such as social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, and more.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
This database is accessible only from the library.

Features information on over 14,000 mutual funds and 10,500 company reports. In-Library use only

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Provides a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Student Research Center (EBSCOhost)

Allows students to search for specific topics or browse subjects in magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, and images.

TOPICsearch (EBSCOhost)

Provides a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full-text from more than 4,800 diverse sources.

TumbleBook Library

Presents animated, talking picture books, reading comprehension quizzes, educational games, and teacher resources. Includes storybooks, life learning books, and language learning books.

UA Archives

Introduces Upper Arlington's past through historical photographs, maps, magazines, and Upper Arlington High School yearbooks from 1923 through 1999.

Upper Arlington News Index

Presents an index of most articles published from 1988 to the final publication of the Upper Arlington News on April 18, 2012.

Value Line Research Center
This database is accessible only from the library.

Provides access to the authoritative Value Line Investment Survey and six other Value Line products, including the Small & Mid-Cap Edition and the Mutual Fund Survey. In-Library use only

VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever

Contains the most extensive listing of movies available on video and a multitude of cross-references within its 9 primary indexes.

Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCOhost)

Designed for vocational and technical libraries, high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this collection provides full-text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Wall Street Journal Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Provides full-image coverage of the nation's premier source for business and financial news from 1889 through 1995. Search for specific topics or browse page by page through each issue. Access the historical New York Times and Washington Post from this same database.

Washington Post Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Provides full-image coverage of news from our nation's capital from 1877 through 1996. Search for specific topics or browse page by page through each issue. Access the historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal from this same database.

Weiss Financial Ratings Online

Provides accurate, independent information and ratings on more than 21,000 banks, insurance companies, and credit unions. In addition this source has investment rating from TheStreet.com on over 6,000 stocks and 16,000 mutual funds.

Wilson Biography Reference Bank

Consists of more than 111,000 biographies and obituaries from multiple sources.

World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society (ABC-CLIO)

Presents comprehensive information and unique insights into military conflicts from 1500 to the present; provides users with current, accurate, and enlightening information on the conflicts that have shaped our world. (Formerly United States at War)

World Book Encyclopedia

Presents the online version of the award-winning encyclopedia with thousand of images, articles and primary source documents.

World Book Kids

Offers a kids' version of the popular encyclopedia.

World Book Spanish

Presents a Spanish language version of the World Book Encyclopedia.

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO)

Explores important events and historical themes in every corner of the globe, including Asia, Africa, and the Americas, from humankind's ancient origins to the year 1500.

World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)

Examines Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Features easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from all over the world.