"The Accursed": Joyce Carol Oates takes on Ivy League society in new novel

Vita's picture

Novelist Joyce Carol Oates' latest novel is in the gothic tradition, but not all of the demons that bedevil its blue-blooded characters are of the supernatural variety (Yahoo!).

In 20th century Princeton, New Jersey, a powerful curse, which besets the wealthiest of families, causes the disappearance of a young bride, and when her brother sets out to find her, he crosses paths with the town's most formidable people, including Grover Cleveland and Upton Sinclair.

Gideon by Alex Gordon

Caitlin's picture

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

Subscribe to novel