romance

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert

Caitlin's picture

After chef Elizabeth “Lou” Johnson finds her fiancée half-naked with another woman, she tries to distract herself with cooking—only to serve the worst meal of her life to Milwaukee’s meanest food critic, Al Waters, aka A. W. Wodysky. A chance meeting brings them together in a bar that night, and—unaware of each other’s true identity—Al challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee. As Al falls in love with Milwaukee and Al and Lou begin to fall for each other, Lou’s restaurant begins a slow spiral toward failure, kicked off by Al’s review. Al will have to decide whether to reveal the truth to Lou, and Lou will have to find out if she’s strong enough to keep pursuing her dreams.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake features delicious description of Milwaukee’s food scene and a sweet, slow-burn romance amid an entertaining cast of secondary characters, perfect for readers who love food and romance.

Warm up with a winter romance!

Caitlin's picture

Does this weather have you wishing for a warm fire and a good book? Curl up with some heroes and heroines in these wintry romances:

In The Longest Night, Marine Captain Cecily Knight has retreated to the Canadian wilderness to live simply – away from the crowds that trigger horrific memories of her time as a prisoner of war. But when an old friend calls in a favor, she's forced to share her solitude with Ian Fairchild, an urbanite lawyer struggling with secrets of his own. Together, they find old wounds healing–and the possibility of love.

In How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf, Mo Wenstein moves to Alaska expecting snow and small-town hospitality; what she gets is a naked man on her porch. A naked werewolf, to be specific: Cooper Graham, the very grumpy leader of the local pack. Hijinks ensue as Mo navigates the local dating scene and Cooper tracks down a killer who might be a werewolf himself.

In Unlawful Contact (the third book in Pamela Clare's I-Team series), reporter Sophie Alton is investigating the mistreatment of pregnant women in prison when convict Marc Hunter takes her hostage. Desperate to find his missing sister, kidnapping Sophie is a last resort for Marc – an honorable man driven to extreme measures. With the life of a young woman at stake and corrupt officials determined to take down both Marc and Sophie, the pair are in a race against time – and their own unruly hearts.

PS: Don't feel like braving the ice and snow? The Longest Night, How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf, and Unlawful Contact are all available for download as ebooks! You can enjoy a great read without having to leave the house.

"The Last Chinese Chef" by Nicole Mones

Vita's picture

​Charming book about a food writer who travels to China seeking the truth of a paternity claim against her deceased husband.  In addition she receives an assignment to interview the owner of a new restaurant opening in Beijing.  She soon discovers the restaurant owner is one of ten finalists for the Chinese Cultural Olympics too. These two story lines, the paternity claim and the preparation for the culinary contest, are woven throughout the book.  This will be appealing to lovers of Chinese food, romance, and anyone who enjoys historically accurate cooking.

"The Shoemaker's Wife" by Adrianna Trigianni

Vita's picture

​A novel about Italian immigrants and their lives in northern Italy as well as in America in the early 1900s. Enza and Ciro meet on a moonlit night in the cemetery of Sant'Antonio da Padova in Schilpario, Italy when they are just teenagers. They go their separate ways to new lives in America but they never quite leave behind their beautiful homeland. The descriptions are magically vivid and although it is a love story of sorts, it's also a powerful testimony on the strength of the human spirit and the importance of family.

"The Forgotten Garden: A Novel" by Kate Morton

Vita's picture

The Forgotten Garden shifts back and forth through time to solve a mystery about a four year old girl Nell; abandoned and waiting alone on a dock in Australia for parents who never come. The only link to her past is a little white suitcase the child carried when she was found.

Nell embarks on an adventure and attempts to piece together the mystery surrounding her past. Her travels lead her to Blackhurst Manor, delving deep into a family's secrets and purchasing a cottage in Cornwall near the Manor. Before she can solve the mystery of her past, Nell dies but her grandaughter Cassandra takes up the quest. This is a fairytale-like novel with old houses and hidden gardens all containing secrets and surprises.

Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Vita's picture

Annie Hewitt is out of options. She returns to her mother’s cottage on Maine’s Peregrine Island with a mountain of debt, no real job prospects, and only her amazing puppet skills to sustain her. Going into a harsh winter, both her future and the landscape look bleak.

The forbidding house at the top of the hill houses a man who traumatized her as a teen, a friend in need, and a little girl who has lost her voice among the waves. In this modern Gothic, Annie’s time on the island will be marked with mystery, romance, thrills, love, and the sense of belonging she has always wanted – from the people she thought least likely to provide it.

Contributor: Stephanie

The Deepest Night by Kara Braden

Caitlin's picture

When security contractor Ray Powell returns to the British Isle of Scilly after a hard mission, he expects to find comfort in staying at his grandmother's home. Instead, he discovers Michelle Cole: gorgeous, kind, funny–and helping out a friend who bought Ray's grandmother's house and turned it into a B&B. Though she's initially wary of the strange man on her doorstep, Michelle soon warms to the determined and sexy ex-Royal Marine. As Ray falls deeper in love, he must convince Michelle that's he's more than just a vacation fling, and Michelle must decide whether to set aside old betrayals–and learn to trust her heart.

Subscribe to romance