# UPPER ARLINGTON PUBLIC LIBRARY MINUTES ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Tuesday, January 19, 2016 at 5:00 PM

Ms. Ashley Elrod, City Clerk for the City of Upper Arlington, administered the Oath of Office to Sue Ralph, Kyle McKee, and Peter Hahn, officially appointing them as Upper Arlington Public Library Board Trustees.

The Organizational Meeting was called to order at 5:09 p.m.

# IN ATTENDANCE

BOARD MEMBERS: Gloria Heydlauff, William J. Shkurti, Sue Ralph, Kyle McKee, Peter Hahn, and John M. Yesso.

ALSO PRESENT: Chris Taylor, Director; Kate Porter, Assistant Director; Justin Nahvi, Fiscal Officer; Sarah Brickner; Deputy Fiscal Officer; Chris Minx, Marketing and Community Relations Manager; Ashley Elrod, Upper Arlington City Clerk; and Diana Magee, Administrative Secretary.

### **RESOLUTION 01-16**

Resolution Appointing the Fiscal Officer and Deputy Fiscal Officer for the Upper Arlington Public Library for a Term of One Year Commencing on January 1, 2016

# **OHIO REVISED CODE, SECTION 3375.32**

WHEREAS, This Board in accordance with the provisions of law has previously appointed Justin Nahvi as the Fiscal Officer and Sarah Brickner as the Deputy Fiscal Officer for the Upper Arlington Public Library; and

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Section 3375.32 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Fiscal Officer and Deputy Fiscal Officer of the Board of Library Trustees of a free public library shall be appointed at the Board's annual organizational meeting for a term of one year; and

WHEREAS, Both the existing Fiscal Officer and Deputy Fiscal Officer are currently bonded with surety, payable to the Board of Trustees, and conditioned for the faithful performance of the official duties required for these positions for the full term of the appointments in 2016; now, therefore,

### BE IT RESOLVED BY THE UPPER ARLINGTON BOARD OF TRUSTEES:

That Justin Nahvi be appointed as the Fiscal Officer of the Upper Arlington Public Library for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016, with a fixed compensation of \$73,611.20.

That Sarah Brickner be appointed as the Deputy Fiscal Officer of the Upper Arlington Public Library for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016, with a fixed compensation of \$37,315.20.

# SIGNATURE SHEET

# Voting:

Sarah Mueller, President
John Yesso, Vice President
Gloria Heydlauff, Secretary
Peter Hahn
Kyle McKee
Sue Ralph
William Shkurti
Aye
Aye
Aye

Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees

Upper Arlington, Ohio

# CERTIFICATION

IT IS HEREBY CERTIFIED that the foregoing is a true and correct transcript of a resolution acted upon by the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, Upper Arlington, Ohio on the date noted above.

Justin Nahvi Upper Arlington Public Library Upper Arlington, Ohio

Ms. Elrod administered the Oath of Office to Justin Nahvi, Fiscal Officer, and Sarah Brickner, Deputy Fiscal Officer.

# RESOLUTION 02-16

Resolution Electing the President, Vice President and Secretary for the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees for a Term of One Year Commencing on January 1, 2016

# **OHIO REVISED CODE, SECTION 3375.32**

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Section 3375.32 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President, Vice President and Secretary of the Board of Library Trustees of a free public library shall be elected at the Board's annual organizational meeting for a term of one year; now, therefore

# BE IT RESOLVED BY THE UPPER ARLINGTON BOARD OF TRUSTEES:

That Sarah Mueller be elected as the President of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That John Yesso be elected as the Vice President of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees and chair of the Operations Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That Gloria Heydlauff be elected as the Secretary of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees and chair of the Finance Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That William Shkurti, of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, be selected as a member of the Finance Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That Kyle McKee, of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, be selected as a member of the Finance Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That Peter Hahn, of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, be selected as a member of the Operations Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

That Susan Ralph, of the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, be selected as a member of the Operations Committee for a one year term commencing on January 1, 2016.

# SIGNATURE SHEET

Resolution No. 02-16 1/19/16

Upon the motion of Trustee Yesso seconded by Trustee Heydlauff

# Voting:

Sarah Mueller, President
John Yesso, Vice President
Gloria Heydlauff, Secretary
Peter Hahn
Kyle McKee
Sue Ralph
William Shkurti
Absent
Aye
Aye
Aye
Aye

Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees

Upper Arlington, Ohio

# CERTIFICATION

IT IS HEREBY CERTIFIED that the foregoing is a true and correct transcript of a resolution acted upon by the Upper Arlington Public Library Board of Trustees, Upper Arlington, Ohio on the date noted above.

\_\_\_\_\_

Justin Nahvi Upper Arlington Public Library Upper Arlington, Ohio

As Ms. Mueller was not yet present, Mr. Yesso requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Heydlauff made a motion to adjourn the Organizational Meeting. Mr. McKee seconded the motion. VOTING AYE: Mr. Hahn, Ms. Heydlauff, Mr. McKee, Ms. Ralph, Mr. Shkurti and Mr. Yesso. VOTING NAY: None.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

As Ms. Mueller was not yet present, Mr. Yesso requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Heydlauff made a motion to adjourn the Organizational Meeting. Mr. McKee seconded the motion. VOTING AYE: Mr. Hahn, Ms. Heydlauff, Mr. McKee, Ms. Ralph, Mr. Shkurti and Mr. Yesso. VOTING NAY: None.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:14 p.m.

Sarah Mueller, President
Gloria Heydlauff, Secretary